Who is JOHN B. PHILLIPS? Do you know?

  • 25 Oct 2018 12:19 PM
    Message # 6873208

    Has he contacted you? Not apparent on our members listing, John addressed briefly 3 of my recent posts with separate identical emails.... I responded as below:


    -------- Original message --------

    From: JOHN B PHILLIPS <pjohnb47@gmail.com>

    Date: 2018-10-24 3:45 PM (GMT-05:00)

    To: Netdavejones@aim.com

    Subject: Triumph pre unit timing cover and distributor (may suit other bikes)

    Hello seller,
    what is your best offer? "

    Wed, Oct 24, 2018 4:36 pm


    netdavejones netdavejones@aim.com
    to JOHN B PHILLIPS pjohnb47@gmail.com




    My best offer is to be honest with you in the description and details.....but you must take an effort to detail your particular interests and come to my shop and make an informed decision, pay my asking price or make a  creditable offer for cash purchase then and there.


  • 25 Oct 2018 8:56 PM
    Reply # 6874034 on 6873208

    Dave........ when the note seems “strange”, delete it. A scammer, waiting for a seller to start a conversation. Not even the courtesy of a a grammatically correct effort. Just ignore it! 

    John D.

  • 25 Oct 2018 9:36 PM
    Reply # 6874060 on 6873208

    Dave .........This looks typical of scammer emails ...Of which I've seen plenty ....The scammers generally  do not know what they are  talking about ....If you replied  >  Only $100  & it will look great on your KAWASAKI   >  He would not know the difference ....


  • 04 Nov 2018 9:15 AM
    Reply # 6887892 on 6873208

    Two of our Barrie-Huronia section members have received emails from this John Phillips in regards to bikes they currently have for sale. Same type of email, so keep an eye out for this guy and as suggested, simply do not respond.


  • 22 Nov 2018 10:52 AM
    Reply # 6928835 on 6873208

    I have received a different phishing email from Alan Prowell -  alanprowell@gmail.com

    It reads as follows:

    Hi There,

    I just read Vintage British Motorcycles for Sale - British Cycle Supply Co., I've shown it to some colleagues and we think a collaboration between us could work well. I represent a digital marketing agency currently working with a leading auto retailer. We would like to feature a unique piece of content on your site on behalf of our client. For the privilege, we'd be happy to pay you somewhere in the region of $30.

    Let me know your thoughts.

    Best wishes,

    He followed up two other times. I just marked it as spam....

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software